Who’s who in Pakistani Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif’s 19-member Cabinet

The 19-member Cabinet of Pakistan’s newly elected Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif was sworn into office on Monday (March 11, 2024).

Pakistani President Asif Ali Zardari administered the oath of office to the ministers at the presidential office in the capital of Islamabad. Shehbaz Sharif was elected as the country’s prime minister by the parliament last week, a month after parliamentary elections and after his Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) party formed a coalition with Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and others.

The cabinet includes 12 MNAs and three senators as federal ministers, as well as a minister of state, mostly comprising of the Sharif family loyalists and veteran politicians. Three technocrats including Muhammad Aurangzeb, Mohsin Naqvi and Ahad Cheema are also part of the cabinet. Shaza Fatima Khawaja is the only woman in the cabinet.

Pakistan’s former finance minister Ishaq Dar has been named the country’s foreign minister while Muhammad Aurangzeb, the CEO of Pakistan’s largest bank HBL, was picked as finance minister in the new cabinet.

Federal ministers

Here is the complete list of Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif’s 19-member cabinet:

  • Ishaq Dar (Senator) — Foreign Affairs
  • Khawaja Muhammad Asif (MNA) — Defense, Defense production, and Aviation
  • Ahsan Iqbal Chaudhry (MNA) — Planning, Development and Special Initiatives
  • Rana Tanveer Hussain (MNA) — Industries and Production
  • Azam Nazeer Tarar (Senator) — Law and Justice, Human Rights
  • Jam Kamal Khan (MNA) — Commerce
  • Abdul Aleem Khan (MNA) — Privatization, Board of Investment
  • Sardar Awais Ahmad Khan Leghari (MNA) — Railways
  • Attaullah Tarar (MNA) — Information and Broadcasting
  • Dr Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui (MNA) — Science and Technology, Federal Education and Professional Training
  • Qaiser Ahmed Sheikh (MNA) — Maritime Affairs
  • Mian Riaz Hussain Pirzada (MNA) — Housing and Works
  • Musadik Masood Malik (Senator) — Petroleum and Power
  • Chaudhry Salik Hussain (MNA) — Overseas Pakistanis and Human Resource Development
  • Amir Muqam (MNA) — States and Frontier Regions, National Heritage and Culture
  • Muhammad Aurangzeb — Finance and Revenue
  • Ahad Khan Cheema — Economic Affairs, and Establishment
  • Mohsin Naqvi — Interior and Narcotics Control
  • Shaza Fatima Khawaja — Minister of State for Information Technology and Telecommunication
Pakistani Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif’s 19-member Cabinet
Members of PM Sharif’s new cabinet. (Image Credit: Dawn/X)

Who are the members of Pakistan’s new cabinet?

Senator Ishaq Dar, a close aide of the Sharif family and four-time former finance minister, has been named as foreign minister, in the cabinet of PM Shehbaz Sharif.

Khawaja Muhammad Asif, a veteran politician from Sialkot and a senior member of the PML-N, will resume his role as defense minister after previously serving from April 2022 to August 2023.

Azam Nazeer Tarar, a Supreme Court lawyer and close aide to Sharif, previously held the position of law minister from April 2022 to August 2023. He is also a Senator.

Ahsan Iqbal, a key Sharif family aide and former planning minister, who also served as the federal minister for interior, has returned to the planning ministry.

Muhammad Aurangzeb, the CEO of HBL, is the new finance minister. He has never held public office before. Aurangzeb’s role will be focused on negotiating an IMF bailout and controlling inflation, bringing extensive experience in the banking sector to the role.

Abdul Aleem Khan, a real estate tycoon and former ally of ex-PM Khan and who now leads his own Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP), will be heading the Privatization and Board of Investment portfolio.

Rana Tanveer Hussain, a vice president of the PML-N who has held several ministerial positions, will head the Industries and Production ministry.

Dr. Musadik Masood Malik, who previously served as petroleum minister, and brings expertise in energy to the table, will serve as the petroleum and power minister.

Ataullah Tarar, the PML-N’s deputy secretary-general, will be taking charge of the information ministry after previously serving as the prime minister’s special assistant on the interior.

Syed Mohsin Raza Naqvi, the chairman of the PCB, will be heading the interior ministry, given his experience as caretaker chief minister of Punjab and his close ties to key political and military figures.

Dr. Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, the leader of MQM-P, will have a significant role in the new government, serving as the federal minister for information technology.

Chaudhry Salik Hussain, the son of former PM Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, who brings experience in investments and special initiatives, will be heading the Overseas Pakistanis and Human Resource Development.

Shaza Fatima Khawaja, the only woman member of the cabinet, who has a background in academia, will serve as Minister of State for Information Technology and Telecommunication.

Jam Kamal Khan, a former chief minister of Balochistan and leader of the Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) who recently joined PML-N, will be heading the Commerce Ministry.

Amir Muqam, a senior PML-N leader from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, will serve as the Minister for States and Frontier Regions. Additionally, he will look after the National Heritage and Culture department.

Sardar Awais Ahmad Khan Leghari, the son of former Pakistani president Farooq Ahmad Khan Leghari, who has experience as a lawmaker, will take charge of the Railways Ministry,

Qaiser Ahmed Sheikh, a businessman-turned-politician associated with PML-N, has been allocated the Maritime Affairs ministry.

Ahad Khan Cheema, a former bureaucrat, brings administrative expertise and establishment matters. He served as a member of the last Sharif cabinet as an adviser on establishment. Cheema will now take charge of the Economic Affairs and Establishment division.

Riaz Hussain Pirzada, a seasoned politician and PML-N leader with experience in various ministries, has been given the charge of Housing and Works.

Salma Khan
Salma writes on topics ranging from education to technology to business. She can be reached at Twitter and Facebook.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advert -spot_img

Latest Articles