NCOC identifies 20 cities as potential COVID-19 hotspots in Pakistan

All major cities of Pakistan identified as COVID-19 hotspots by NCOC

The National Command and Operations Centre (NCOC) has identified at least 20 cities across Pakistan that are COVID-19 hotspots or clusters using a strategy termed as ‘testing, tracing and quarantining (TTQ)’.

The following 20 cities have been identified by the NCOC where “necessary restrictive measures” are expected to be enforced.

  • Karachi
  • Lahore
  • Quetta
  • Peshawar
  • Rawalpindi
  • Islamabad
  • Faisalabad
  • Multan
  • Gujranwala
  • Swat
  • Hyderabad
  • Sukkur
  • Sialkot
  • Gujarat
  • Ghotki
  • Larkana
  • Khairpur
  • Dera Ghazi Khan
  • Malakand
  • Mardan

The TTQ strategy involves “ramping up testing, rapidly tracing the contacts of confirmed positive cases, and effective quarantining of positive and suspected cases.”.

In Islamabad, COVID-19 hotpots that are currently being monitored in the city and might be sealed include I-8, I-10, Ghauri Town, Bharakhau, G-6 & G-7. Meanwhile, G-9/2 and G-9/3 areas that had more than 300 cases were sealed along with Karachi Company.

Islamabad reported almost 635 cases on June 15 taking the city’s tally to 8,569, according to official statistics.

Several areas of Lahore and Peshawar are also being completely sealed.

Currently, more than 137,100 people have tested positive for the novel coronavirus in Pakistan. Around 2,729 people have succumbed to the virus while over 53,700 have recovered. During the last 24 hours, more than 5,248 cases and 97 deaths were reported. At least 29,085 people were tested during the last day.

Related Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advert -spot_img

Latest Articles