Pakistan elected non-permanent member of UN Security Council with big majority

Pakistan was elected as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) on June 6, with a substantial majority, after months of intensive campaigning.

In an election held at the General Assembly, Pakistan secured 182 votes out of 193, far surpassing the required two-thirds majority of 124 votes. The election marked Pakistan’s eighth term on the UNSC, having previously served in 2012-13, 2003-04, 1993-94, 1983-84, 1976-77, 1968-69, and 1952-53.

Pakistan will replace Japan, the current holder of the Asian seat, on January 1, 2025, for a two-year term.

Alongside Pakistan, Denmark, Greece, Panama, and Somalia were also elected to the UNSC, replacing Ecuador, Malta, Mozambique, and Switzerland, whose terms end on Dec. 31.

Munir Akram, Pakistan’s permanent representative to the UN, thanked the international community for putting confidence in Pakistan’s ability to promote the purposes and principles of the UN Charter.

Akram highlighted Pakistan’s commitment to working with other council members to advance shared goals, focusing on conflict prevention and peaceful settlement in line with the UN Charter.

Pakistan Foreign Office, in its official statement, expressed gratitude for all members of the UN General Assembly, especially the Asia-Pacific Group for endorsing Pakistan’s candidature for the Council, for their confidence in Pakistan, and for electing it as a non-permanent member of the Security Council.

“Elected for the eighth time as a non-permanent member, Pakistan brings to the UN Security Council a rich experience and a strong legacy of contributions towards the maintenance of international peace and security, manifested by its strict adherence to the purposes and principles of the UN Charter as well as its UN peacekeeping and peacebuilding endeavors across many regions of the world,” the Foreign Office said.

Pakistan PM calls it a proud moment for nation

Prime Minister Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif celebrated the victory, emphasizing the overwhelming support as a testament to Pakistan’s diplomatic standing and its commitment to global peace and security.

“Proud moment as Pakistan receives a resounding 182 votes and is elected to the United Nations Security Council for the term 2025-26,” the prime minister wrote on X.

“Our election to the council with such overwhelming support of UN member states at this critical time bears testament to the international community’s confidence in Pakistan’s diplomatic standing as well as to our commitment to global peace & security,” he stated.
Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Mohammad Ishaq Dar reaffirmed Pakistan’s dedication to the UN Charter’s vision of preventing war, promoting peace, and fostering global prosperity.

“We remain determined to contributing effectively towards the maintenance of international peace and security in line with UNSC’s mandate,” he said in a post on X.

Pakistan joins the UNSC at a time of significant global challenges, with plans to focus on promoting peace and security in South Asia, upholding self-determination for the people of Palestine and Kashmir, supporting normalization in Afghanistan, finding equitable solutions to security challenges in Africa, and enhancing UN peacekeeping operations.

The new members will join the five permanent, veto-wielding members of the UNSC— the United States, Russia, China, the United Kingdom, and France— and the five non-permanent members elected last year— Algeria, Guyana, South Korea, Sierra Leone, and Slovenia.

The UNSC, under the UN Charter, holds primary responsibility for maintaining international peace and security, with all member states obligated to comply with its decisions.

Vote tally

A total of 190 Member States participated in the election, which concluded in a single round of voting.

In the African and Asia-Pacific groups, Pakistan secured 182 votes while Somalia received 179 votes, with five countries abstaining.

For the Latin America and the Caribbean group, Panama secured 183 votes, Argentina received one vote, and six countries abstained. In the Western European and other States group, Denmark garnered 184 votes, Greece received 182 votes, and Italy and Norway each received one vote, with two countries abstaining.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advert -spot_img

Latest Articles